Blog #8: Privacy

I believe that the privacy of oneself is very important and that others should respect it.  Whether it is a close friends, family or the government, one should have their right to protecting themselves.

I personally am concerned about this issue nor have I done anything to protect my privacy. Before the discussion in class I was aware of the privacy issues, but I didn’t know it was to this extent.  I believe that one should be able to say what they want through a email, on a phone call or even what they are doing while driving down the street.  The idea that everything can be tracked, and is tracked when nothing wrong is being done is crazy and wrong to me.  I have a Facebook and I am someone who has my privacy setting set so only friends can see, but after knowing that everything is still seen regardless of the choice I thought I made in my privacy settings, I consider even keeping my Facebook it in the future.

The Facebook issue is an issue that really stands out to me.  Facebook offers privacy settings, yet they don’t follow them and keep it exactly how you think it is.  I never had thought before the video that just any stranger or co-worker could find information I had posted.  I think this is something that should be a concern and people should fight for.

Privacy should be available for all unless there is proof of wrongdoing or a reason to look into it.  The fact that the Big Brothers are constantly watching our lives, can truly affect some people in the future if they had a rough past or wrong doings.  Although this has not affected me yet, I do have concerns that at some point down the road, there is a possibility of it, which is simply unfair.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/kashmirhill/2012/02/16/how-target-figured-out-a-teen-girl-was-pregnant-before-her-father-did/

http://www.aclu.org/blog/technology-and-liberty/supreme-court-rules-government-violated-privacy-rights-gps-tracking-case

About cnroby01

Student at Louisville University.

Leave a Reply

